Tags

,

Each year, I spend a couple days in the lull between Christmas and New Years going over in my mind what worked well in the year and what I’d like to do differently in the one to come. I jot down some goals in my journal and revisit them periodically. I call them goals rather than resolutions because they are my big and little dreams for the year and some are more realistic than others, but if I don’t write them down, they become lost in the reality that some days, survival is the only goal.

It’s March, we were all recently laid low with the flu and spring is taking far too long to arrive so it seemed like a good time to check in with myself and see what goals have been worked on, which ones still matter to me, and where to go from here.
As I read them over, this is what I found:

12 Goals for 2013

  1. Do physical therapy and take vitamins. I wrote this one first because it’s probably the most important thing I can be doing for my physical well being. Sadly, it’s something I am still pretty sporadic with.
  2. Have a plan for helping Caleb grow spiritually. Hmm, well I wouldn’t say there is a “plan” as I had imagined it then, but there is more intentionality this year than last in the books we read, the songs we sing and the conversations we have. I would love to add more scripture memory though.
  3. Begin home Pre-K in the fall. I have an education degree, I’m a stay at home mom, we plan to primarily homeschool, so of course we’ll do pre-k at home! Right? Or so my thinking went this past winter. Since I wrote this goal, we’ve decided this fall Caleb will be heading to the same beloved pre-k program several of our friend’s children have gone to (it meets just two mornings/week). I’d have to write a post to explain all the reasons we chose this path instead, but the short answer is, “we think it will be a good fit for our family.” I’m excited for him!
  4. All household surfaces clean/uncluttered before bed each night. Hahahahaha! But a girl can dream right?
  5. Stay under grocery budget. I have a theory about this. I’ve said many times that I’d have no problem staying under budget if we could quit eating. Turns out, it’s true. I blew it in January and then came in $125 under budget in February when we involuntarily fasted/ate lightly for almost a week during our flu. We’ll see how March goes.
  6. Update budget weekly. Not quite, but we’re definitely reviewing it a couple times/month.
  7. Continue daily quiet time. Yup. I’m ashamed to say this is the longest I’ve stuck with a “read through the Bible in a year” plan since I was in highschool, but I’m actually loving it.
  8. Purge excess items via Craigslist, Freecycle and Goodwill. We’ve made one large Goodwill run in 2013, but I still have bags of items I need to consign just sitting around.
  9. Take photos of every room in the house in January to compare to at the end of the year. This goal grew from David and I talking about what went well last year. Sometimes it was hard for us to see progress until we saw old pictures or thought back reeeeally hard. Why not make it easier to give ourselves a year end high-five? That said, I still haven’t taken those pictures yet…
  10. Plant garden. It’s not quite time for planting, but I’m already mentally tasting those first lettuces and dreaming of late-summer tomatoes.
  11. Plan a family vacation- Camping? Does ending a couple emails to David with, “PS. I really do want to plan that family camping trip this year!” count as planning?
  12. Do a cardio workout. I started this a few days before coming down with the flu. Clear evidence exercise is hazardous to your health. Seriously though, I just got back it it this week and find it (don’t tell anyone) strangely refreshing.

Lots of progress and lots of room to grow. Pretty much what I’d expect in March…or December! I’ll try to remember to do one more “public” check in this year. I’d love to hear any goals you made for 2013 and how they’re going so far.

