I’m dying to catch up the blog and post about what’s happening *now* (5! Kindergarten! Big Kid!) so please excuse this rough-draft version of my monthly updates. It’s basically a string of anecdotes I wrote down with cute pictures in between (that may or may not be related in any way). Enjoy!

IMG_8988Caleb: “Mommy, I’m going to sing a song called “Jesus was Born in a Stable”. It’ s about happy things that happened to Jesus.

Me: “Could I take a video?”

C: “Actually, I’m sorry, but cameras aren’t allowed in the church.”

LOL! Where does he get these things?

About 30 seconds into the song, Caleb decided drumming on beat requires intense concentration and made this face the rest of the time :D

About 30 seconds into the song, Caleb decided drumming on beat requires intense concentration and made this face the rest of the time 😀

Caleb remembered a dream! He came into our room one morning and said, “I had a dream that did not scare me last night! I dreamed I was flying in my superman cape. Diego was in my dream and he called me because he needed me to rescue him from a waterfall!” So fun to see him able to remember a happy dream!

In preschool one day he told me his favorite part of the day was being a fireman and a doctor at the SAME time. He is such a rescuer right now.

Shark Boy

Shark Boy

Caleb and I both woke up with a nightmare at the exact same time last night. His was that someone at daddy’s work popped his only purple balloon (he had a red balloon pop yesterday that he cried and cried over so the dream definitely makes sense) and I dreamed I was at the zoo and they were letting the lions chase a goat for their meal. It upset Caleb and the next thing I knew he was in there trying to rescue it. I yelled for him and he escaped back out, but I was panting and heart pounding when I woke up from it. No idea where that came from, lol.

First lego set we built together :)

First lego set we built together 🙂

If you’ve spent time with a 4 year old, you know that if you’ve won a game of chutes and ladders, you’ve really lost.  For the first time in their lives, they understand the concept of winning, so losing is still something they are learning how to deal with. We try to give Caleb a balance of reality (we all lose sometimes) and compassion (but it still doesn’t feel good).

Earlier this month, Caleb set up a game of Memory for us to play together. He asked me what my favorite Thomas train was so he could include it as one of the matches. Being the creative, knee deep in mixing and stirring mom that I am, I blurted out, “Thomas.” I told him to go ahead and take the first turn without me. The next thing I hear as I push a casserole into the oven is, “Awww! I’m sorry Mommy! I got Thomas. He’s your favorite. I’ll put him back so you can get him.” This amazed me because this is *not* something we do for him.

Another precious moment. I accidentally dropped a bag of flour getting it out of the freezer. Caleb heard my frustration and said, "Don't worry mommy, we all make mistakes, I'll clean it up for you." Heart Beyond Melted.

Another precious moment. I accidentally dropped a bag of flour getting it out of the freezer. Caleb heard my frustration and said, “Don’t worry mommy, we all make mistakes, I’ll clean it up for you.” Heart Beyond Melted.

One morning, as I was opening the curtains, just as the sun was peeking up over the mountains Caleb says, “Mommy, you’re the best girl in our family.”

“What a way to start the day…”, I thought. Then he added, “Because you’re the only girl in our family.” At least his sense of humor is developing, LOL.

IMG_0513

Caleb built a block tower this morning, and said, “This is a tower to the gods! And we are going to get in trouble.” He then sang a song that went like this: “We made ourselves!” (beating a drum!). Then sings “Whooo made you? God!” and then knocks down a big part of the tower. Repeat multiple times. I guess the whole “don’t worship false gods thing is really resonating with him?. Hahahaha.

He's a character...

He’s a character…

At almost 5, Caleb’s “kidisms” are disappearing rapidly, but one of my favorites is still going strong. Instead of saying “kiddie” (like a kiddie pool, etc.) Caleb says “kidney” as in, “This is my kid-a-nee fork, my kid-a-nee cup, etc” It makes me smile every time. I know one day I’ll hear my last “kidney” and I’m in no hurry to correct it 🙂

Speaking of kid-isms...does it get more adorable than "Fort" in little kid handwriting?

Speaking of kid-isms…does it get more adorable than “Fort” in little kid handwriting?

At lunch one day, Caleb starts telling us, “Did you know 1+1=2, 2+1=3, 2+2=4, 2+1+2=5, 3+3=6, 3+3+1=7, 4+4=8…” Of course, I was thrilled he is understanding the concept of addition, but I couldn’t figure out how he was choosing those groupings of numbers. When I asked, he told me:

Excuse the mess in the background.

Excuse the mess in the background.

Do you see it?

 

 

