July was a laid back month that brought the type of precious memories I’ll still carry with me when I’m an old lady. Our neighbors threw an awesome block party, complete with giant slide, which all the neighborhood kids played on from dawn until well into the evening, I got to attend the bridal shower of my soon-to-be sister-in-law and meet her sweet family and we celebrated my birthday with a backyard smores and sparklers night.

2015071895145316-1-01 IMG_2455 IMG_2458 IMG_2461IMG_2502We also got to spend a long weekend with our dear friends the Merolas.

IMG_2242 IMG_2245 IMG_2246 IMG_2256 IMG_2296 IMG_2371

And the token anecdote I jotted down from this month:

This afternoon as I was coming inside, i banged my knee onto the edge of one of our porch chairs. I said, “Oww.” and Caleb of course immediately started asking me what happened, to which I graciously replied something like, “I banged me knee and it really hurt. Please just get inside and sit down at the table and stop asking me questions.” To which he said, “I’m sorry you hurt your knee mommy.” in the sweetest, but most David-like-tone that says, “I can see you’re having a meltdown right now and I’m going to be loving anyway.” I apologized on the spot for speaking grumpily and am still in awe at the maturity I saw in him at that moment.

 

