Knowing we had a lot of travel coming up this year, we started homeschooling in June (mostly focusing on phonics and reading) and slowly added different pieces of our curriculum in until, by August when everyone else started we were “officially” homeschooling ๐Ÿ™‚

For those interested, here’s a brief outline of our day. We do many different activities connected to these “bones” of a schedule to try and keep his brain working in unique ways:

Calendar/Seasons/Months/Weather

Number of the Day

Sentence of the Day

Clock

Catechism

Memory Verse

Phonics

Easy Readers/Read Alouds

Handwriting

Math

He also does an art class most weeks (while mommy squeezes in a many errands as she can into 2 hours), as well as co-op activities which include art, music, PE and science experiments. For history, we love Story of the World, which he listens to during his quiet time almost every day while he builds incredible lego inventions to show off to me when he’s all done ๐Ÿ™‚

So, how does he like it?

Since we started, Caleb has told me several times how much he liked preschool. I can tell he misses it. I’ve been affirming what a special time it was, but I was curious…which would he choose if he could? When I asked him, his response warmed my heart:

“I would want to homeschool! I love homeschooling.

Me: “What about it?”

“I get to do things I didn’t get to do in preschool. Like I’m learning to tell time now and I have my own little clock whose hands I can move myself. And, Daddy gets to be the volunteer! He never got to be the volunteer at preschool!”

Perks of letting daddy take over an assignment during an afternoon session ๐Ÿ˜€

So far, every time someone has asked Caleb what he likes best about school and he says, “Math!!!” no one has acted surprised or commented on how they don’t like math. Math was hard for me, so I know how hard it is to keep those comments to yourself. So just a huge thank you to all my friends who have encouraged my little math-lover over the past two weeks!

***************************************************************

Adventures is Classical Education (our history curriculum):

C: “St. Nicholas was alive in the Byzantine Empire. So that means he’s really alive right?”
Me: “Well, the Byzantine Empire was a long time ago. So he was really alive, yes, but he’s not any more.”
C: “Did he die in September 11th?
Me: “No, the Byzantine Empire was much much longer ago.”
C: “So, now my question for you is- are his bones still in the ground?”
Me: “I would guess so…” @_@

***************************************************************

As much as I enjoy running errands when Caleb is in art, I also love having him with me. At 5, he is such a big helper. He is beginning to understand price and value and will say things like, “If grapes are on sale this week, may we please get some?” โค He also loooves helping me in the self check out lane and can scan and bag most items. I love how much learning just happens “along the way”.

And of course, another cool thing is when I realize he knows something that I didn’t even teach him directly. The other day, I was asked to give my phone number when I checked in to a doctors appointment and Caleb chimed in and recited the whole thing! Apparently, he’s been with me enough times, it’s committed to memory. I’d assumed I’d be teaching it to him this year. Guess I can check that off my list!

**************************************************************

Obviously, most of our month centered around the new adventure of homeschooling, but I also had to carve some time out of my schedule to get some testing done. Some odd symptoms that were becoming increasingly frequent made David and I decide we wanted more than a “it’s probably endometriosis” diagnosis. However, I really wanted to avoid jumping straight to surgery, the gold standard of endo diagnosis.

After researching my options, I decided to have a battery of tests done all at once to rule out other, potentially more serious conditions, and under certain circumstances, confirm my endo diagnosis. If a patient has endometrial cysts on the ovaries, these can be seen on ultrasound by a skilled technician, during a small window of the cycle. These cysts are correlated with more severe endo, so I wasn’t sure if I was hoping for them to be found or not.

At the end of August, we got our results from the ultrasound and blood work. Two endometrial cysts, one on each ovary, and PCOS, also affecting both ovaries. The endometriosis was expected, although it confirmed our suspicions that mine is likely not a “mild” case, but the PCOS was a total surprise, as I don’t have many of the other symptoms that correlate to it.

Both conditions make it very difficult to get pregnant and many women affected by both need assistive reproductive technology to have children. PCOS also makes it more difficult to carry children to term, so in the event I did get pregnant, my chances of loss were statistically much higher. It was hard to hear, but as I tucked Caleb in that night, I knew I already had my miracle baby. I’d gotten to be a mother for 5 wonderful years, against all odds. How could I complain?

0821150956a IMG_2785 IMG_2873 IMG_2999

 

