November holds a special place in my heart because it was the first month I started to let myself dream about this baby joining our family. This is an except from my journal, the day before my 12 week appointment:

Today everything has been reminding me we’re expecting a baby. My jeans are getting harder to button. The tiny slide I thought we’d be getting rid of soon now has an imaginary 14 month old clambering up it. I’ve started to wonder what he or she will be like. Similar to Caleb? Or completely opposite?

I make sure to dream these things before each appointment because I know it might be my last chance to dream them without the sting of loss. I trust God with whatever his plans are for our family and don’t take forgranted what a gift it has been to be able to dream these things at all, when I thought I never would again.

Caleb came with me to that appointment, and we sat and listening in awe as we heard the baby’s heart beat for the first time. That night, I went home and wrote our Christmas letter and shared the news I’d longed to give for so many years of Christmas letters.

Morning sickness was still in full swing most of the month, but I could see the light at the end of the tunnel as I began to have a few good hours each day. It made traveling down to Florida to see my parents a lot easier than the trip to Hawaii had been. I was crossing my fingers I’d feel well enough to enjoy Thanksgiving dinner. As it turned out, the day before was the last time I actually got sick, although I continued to feel really nauseous in the evenings until 23 weeks, but this is the last time I’m going to write about it, promise 😉

Snuggled up watching the Macy's Parade, soaking in the fact I kept breakfast down ;)

Snuggled up watching the Macy’s Parade, soaking in the fact I kept breakfast down 😉

I remember from my pregnancy with Caleb that the weeks between morning sickness and waiting to feel baby move were hard ones for me. God graciously allowed me to start feeling the little tiny swishes from this little one just days after I stopped getting sick. I couldn’t believe I could feel her so early and looked forward to the quiet moments before getting out of bed in the morning that I could feel her tiny movements.

12 Weeks

12 Weeks

We had a wonderful visit with my parents and even got to see my Uncle Rick and Aunt Susan, as well as visit with family friends in Alabama. It was so wonderful to be able to share our good news with those who hadn’t heard yet.

IMG_4324 IMG_4343 IMG_4417

IMG_4402

And of course, in the midst of all the baby excitement, there was lots of “life as normal”. We raked leaves, David went on a work trip, we homeschooled, we had funny dinner table conversations:

Let’s all say something we’re thankful for.

Mommy: “I’m thankful for the little baby growing inside of me and that Caleb is working so hard to learn how to read so he can read to baby.”
Daddy: “I’m thankful for my big helper, for mommy and for the new baby.”
Caleb: “I’m thankful for Legos! I can BUILD them. DESTROY them. And BUILD them AGAIN!”

Just keeping it real 😉

IMG_4236 IMG_4239

