We rang in the new year while visiting David’s family. So many great memories!

IMG_4810

The boys put on an impromptu musical for us :D

The boys put on an impromptu musical for us 😀

I’m glad I had such a wonderful trip to distract me, because the day after we got back was our anatomy scan. Both David and I couldn’t wait to find out if Caleb would have a brother or a sister. I’d felt boy from the beginning and David had just as strongly felt girl. The morning of the scan, David felt a kick for the first time. Everything started feeling so real…and then when we learned we were having a girl and saw her precious profile for the first time…tears!

IMG_5057 IMG_5062_pub

January was also the first month Caleb was able to feel his little sister kick. I feel like I could see his bond with her grow each day. It was this month that he made up a little song for her that he still spontaneously sings her every so often:

“Oh little siiister, I lo-ooo-ooo-ve you.

I hope you grow healthy and stroooong.”

Here’s an excerpt from my journal on Jan. 24th:

Caleb woke up so full of love for me and his baby sister. When I came out, he started hugging me and kissing my belly over and over and telling me how much he loves me and loves little sister. It makes my heart so full.

IMG_5292

I always love the start of a new year. I didn’t make any resolutions, but I was looking forward to using my newfound energy and lack of nausea to get back into a routine, both with homeschool and housekeeping. As we drove back from visiting family, I jotted down a loose daily schedule for both Caleb and I. Mine included a daily block of time to tackle basic things like dishes, wiping down counters and laundry as well as weekly time to lesson plan. His included daily chore time in addition to homeschooling and rest time. Just adding a little bit more structure to our day and week, instead of trying to fit things in here and there, has made a HUGE difference (and is still working as of March!). I know it will all go out the window for a while after baby comes- and that’s ok, but I love that we have something to tweak and go back to.

After we finished homeschooling one day Caleb randomly said, “Mommy, can you please click the banner so I can learn more?” I was totally lost.
“What banner buddy?”
“I don’t know!”
“Well, where did you see it?”
“I didn’t see it. They told us to click it. I think they said on WordFM.org”.

@_@ They are *always* listening…and remembering!

IMG_5203

And of course, I can’t end the post without an honorable mention to “Snowmageddon” where we got our entire winters worth of snow in one storm.

And of course, I can't end the post without an honorable mention to "Snowmageddon" where we got our entire winters worth of snow in one storm.

